08
Jun
10

France ’10


For the next three weeks, I will be interning in an office in France. That means that even though school is out, I still won’t be posting any photos. However, I have a small list of things I am going to try to find while I am here.

What’s interesting about France is that it isnt so much that we dont have the same kinds of clothing (especially considering certain foreign brands that have gotten over here bless you H&M and target Go International designers), but that many very very covetable designs are in the same place at the same time. You don’t have to go digging through every simple, boring, or completely horrifying tshirt to find that one glorious top (*cough* Forever21). So while I am here, here is what I will be looking for:

  • accessories:  even at the equivalent of walmart here, there are scarves you couldn’t find in america for under 20 bucks to be sure if not more than that
  • lotion:  my host lother last year randomly picked up some cheap lotion on sale when I needed some.  It was L’oreal but cannot be bought in America.  My real mother looked for it too when she came but couldnt find any.  But again, at the =walmart,  I found it and bought two bottles.  I dont know what it is about this stuff but it makes my legs happier than anything else I have ever tried.
  • those pants with the baggy crotch:  such an appealing title, right?  I highly highly doubt I will be able to find a pair of these that flatter, but hell its worth a try.  If I can find them, Ill just try them on and try not to fall in love with the concept even though the image in the mirror is far less than satisfactory.
  • cheap perfume that smells amazing:  even the laundry detergent here smells better than at home.  Something about France: the generic smells are just superior.  Who knows why.
  • Jewelry: that goes along with accessories.

I’ll let you know if I find anything and if I do pictures will go up when I get back.  Which will be in mid August:  I’ll be in this city with the office until the end of June, then in Paris for a few days, then babysitting in Burgundy for 2 weeks, then I go home for one day and start camp the next.  Love my busy life (?).

Happy summering!

2 Responses to “France ’10”


  1. 1 anonymous
    June 11, 2010 at 10:13 pm

    I don’t know if you are in a small town or more of a large city. But last year I was in Nice for the summer and found lots of great harem pants (big crotch pants) in little shops in the side streets. Thin jersey ones hang well on almost everyone. Also, something to think about adding to your list, summery white linen and cotton blouses they are like no other in france!

  2. 2 scorbynw
    June 21, 2010 at 9:42 pm

    Thanks for the suggestion!! In fact, I was referring more to the more tailored less drop crotch, but did end up getting a cheap pair of harem pants at pimkie. They are unbelievably comfortable to wear around the house, although admittedly, before I get a really good look at them in many different mirrors and from various different camera angles, I’m not totally sure I’m prepared to pull them out around town. And I hadn’t thought of a blouse! Thanks for the suggestion!


Leave a Reply

“Photography is a way of feeling, of touching, of loving. What you have caught on film is captured forever... it remembers little things, long after you have forgotten everything.”--Aaron Sisking

“When the Devil quotes Scriptures, it’s not, really, to deceive, but simply that the masses are so ignorant of theology that somebody has to teach them the elementary texts before he can seduce them”–Paul Goodman


“Nonsense and beauty have close connections.”--Marquis de Sade

“This is the very perfection of a man, to find out his own imperfections.”--Saint Augustine

" i hope someday, somebody wants to hold you for twenty minutes straight and that's all they do. they don't pull away, they don't look away, they don't try to kiss you. all they do is wrap you up in their arms and hold on tight without an ounce of selfishness to it."--Waitress

“I regret that it takes a life to learn how to live."--Jonathan Safran Foer's Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close

“It is not my mode of thought that has caused my misfortunes, but the mode of thought of others”--Marquis de Sade

“Death keeps no calendar”–English Proverb

June 2010
M T W T F S S
« May   Sep »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.


