13
Jul
09

France Haul


As I may have mentioned before, I was in France for one of the twice-a-year sales (“les soldes”) in France.  Everything is marked down up to 70% in some cases.  It was glorious.

I wore this to a musical the other night.  Sorry about the wet hair.  It makes me look awkward and I don’t like it, but we were rushing out, so what can I do right…

The dress is a sweater dress by Avant Premiere.  The scarf is from Eurodif, which sells clothing similar to maybe target: a few gems, but mostly “creative” basics.  The scarf was one of those gems.  It is lace, with pom poms on the edges, which of course sounds completely ridiculous, but in reality is fantastic.  I was a little sad when I came home, went to a boutique downtown, and saw a scarf almost identical to it.  But mine was cheaper 🙂  Shoes are aerosoles.

I got the ring is amethyst and I got it at a boutique in Tours which I am pretty sure was called Les Souris Vertes, but I can’t remember.  The nailpolish is O.P.I. Edin-Burgundy.

Sorry I don’t have a photo of myself in the brown skirt.  And sorry the photo of me in the embroidered one is so sad.

Waistband

Lower embroidery

Worn: This photo was also taken after walking all over Versailles on the hottest day of our month long trip.  And I was pressed for fashion choices.  I prefer wearing it with a slimmer fitting simple black v-neck, but I am still messing around with my options, of course.

Tshirt: Alternative Apparel; Shoes: Gap (a few years ago); Sunnies: Coach

And the brown skirt.  This I tried on at a solde at les Galeries Lafayette and was horribly conflicted: it fit well, was very French, but I had no clue what I would where it with.  I ended up getting it, of course.  Suggestions for a top are welcome.

It’s a bitch to iron.  Both skirts are by Promod.

I also got a hold of some fake black pearl earrings and some earrings that fulfilled my craving for some old lady earrings, but you will see those as they show up, slowly but surely.  In a week, however, I am leaving for camp (aldfkajf;jf;ljdf;hea;kjf SO excited) and will be gone for 3 weeks.

3 Responses to “France Haul”


  1. 1 Mindy
    July 13, 2009 at 5:17 am

    Honey that silver skirt is the SEX.
    The outfit up top is so beautiful on you!!
    Congrats on going to France and getting such great finds. ^^

  2. 2 scorbynw
    July 13, 2009 at 5:19 am

    By silver do you mean grey? 🙂

  3. 3 ajb
    July 13, 2009 at 1:35 pm

    You are so lovely!!


Leave a Reply

“Photography is a way of feeling, of touching, of loving. What you have caught on film is captured forever... it remembers little things, long after you have forgotten everything.”--Aaron Sisking

“When the Devil quotes Scriptures, it’s not, really, to deceive, but simply that the masses are so ignorant of theology that somebody has to teach them the elementary texts before he can seduce them”–Paul Goodman


“Nonsense and beauty have close connections.”--Marquis de Sade

“This is the very perfection of a man, to find out his own imperfections.”--Saint Augustine

" i hope someday, somebody wants to hold you for twenty minutes straight and that's all they do. they don't pull away, they don't look away, they don't try to kiss you. all they do is wrap you up in their arms and hold on tight without an ounce of selfishness to it."--Waitress

“I regret that it takes a life to learn how to live."--Jonathan Safran Foer's Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close

“It is not my mode of thought that has caused my misfortunes, but the mode of thought of others”--Marquis de Sade

“Death keeps no calendar”–English Proverb

July 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.


