01
Mar
09

Attempt to Rework My Mother’s Dress


When she got this dress, I was about 8.  I loved it.  Now, I want to do something with it, but obviously, I can’t wear it as is…pardon the funky hair.

So I took about 30 minutes to mess with it and see what I could come up with. I wen through a few variations on a dropped waist, but dropped waists make me nervous, and I think they make me look short.  I tried knee length, but it still looked matronly…finally I ended up tucking the ends into the strings of my underwear and voila!

I’ll be honest, it’s not my first choice.  But if I can have a new dress for Spring/Summer that I reworked, it will not only be fun to make happen, but it could also be categorized under the whole “ressecionista” thing.

Now the only problem is making it happen (without tucking it in underwear, I mean).  The fabric is not the easiest to work with…I think our best bet might be to cut off some of the skirt, then sew it to a skirt slip, which would be awkward as far as storage goes, but would work best, I think.  Or we could take it to a seamstress, but that could defeat the purpose entirely.

The other issue I have is what to do about the neckline.  Now I like showing some skin as much as the next girl, but this one goes a little too far.  We thought that maybe we could do a gather at the front…

But my idea was to do the same type of gathering in the back (there is a seam down the back, so maybe we could get a tailor to just take that in, since it would probably be the most easily botched part of the entire project) and then pin it with some gorgeous old jewel pin.  Back jewels!

And like I said.  I know it’s not top style, but it is more than half decent, a pretty dress, and it has an economically sound story behind it.

That said, any suggestions are welcome.  Thanks for reading!

P.S.  Don’t my legs look fab?  I was surprised.  Embrace the pale!!!

3 Responses to “Attempt to Rework My Mother’s Dress”


  1. 1 Mindy
    July 9, 2009 at 4:03 am

    Hello darling,
    I’ve been in this situation before.
    You may have fixed the dress already but, here’s my two sense.
    First, if you are going to cut the dress that fabric WILL fray so, you can cut it and then make a proper hem so the ends dont become ratty, or instead of tucking it into your underwear, you can flip it to the inside like you’ve been doing and pin it with safety pins.
    For the neckline, you can always wear an undershirt. If you want to change the dress there are a few options:
    one being; adding a button or two and cutting some of the extra fabric off of the bottom sewing the fabric on to your problem area. Another idea is, using that extra fabric from the bottom and just cutting a piece out and sewing it on. If you want to keep it all the same fabric you can use a seam ripper and take off each frilly piece off of the arms and sewing that onto your neckline.
    ^^ I hop this helps hon. If you get this let me know on Facebook, please.
    Mindy

  2. 2 scorbynw
    July 9, 2009 at 8:05 pm

    I have actually put that project on hold.

    And the fraying of fabric is something I am quite familiar with. I don’t like the look of safety pins showing through a dress that I have pinned. I think it looks to finished, and I am a bit of a perfectionist with that. And maybe you didn’t get this part, but the point of the slip was so that the dress would have a slight bubbly hem.

  3. 3 Mindy
    July 11, 2009 at 12:39 am

    Ohhhh ^^


Leave a Reply

“Photography is a way of feeling, of touching, of loving. What you have caught on film is captured forever... it remembers little things, long after you have forgotten everything.”--Aaron Sisking

IMG_4939

IMG_4936

IMG_4933

IMG_4930

IMG_4928

IMG_4924

IMG_4922

photo

photo 4

photo 3

More Photos

“When the Devil quotes Scriptures, it’s not, really, to deceive, but simply that the masses are so ignorant of theology that somebody has to teach them the elementary texts before he can seduce them”–Paul Goodman


“Nonsense and beauty have close connections.”--Marquis de Sade

“This is the very perfection of a man, to find out his own imperfections.”--Saint Augustine

" i hope someday, somebody wants to hold you for twenty minutes straight and that's all they do. they don't pull away, they don't look away, they don't try to kiss you. all they do is wrap you up in their arms and hold on tight without an ounce of selfishness to it."--Waitress

“I regret that it takes a life to learn how to live."--Jonathan Safran Foer's Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close

“It is not my mode of thought that has caused my misfortunes, but the mode of thought of others”--Marquis de Sade

“Death keeps no calendar”–English Proverb

March 2009
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.


